NTA Network Elections 2018

Report to the Members of the NTA Network by the

Nominating Committee

23 July 2018

Background

In terms of the NTA Bylaws, the NTA network is governed by an Executive Council. Article VI of the Bylaws states that the Executive Council is to consist of "(a) two individuals from each region (Africa, Asia, Americas, and Europe) elected by the voting members; (b) leaders of important comparative projections appointed by the Executive Council; (c) the Executive Director(s) of the Secretariat; (d) officers of the Secretariat; and (e) founding directors of NTA, Ronald Lee and Andrew Mason". The beginning of the term for the new Executive Council is to coincide with the *12th Global Meeting of the NTA Network*, to be held 23-27 July 2018 in Mexico City.

Nominations for the Executive Council are the responsibility of the NTA Nominating Committee. This is a five-person committee, which includes representation from each of the four NTA regions (Africa, the Americas, Asia-Pacific, and Europe) along with an 'at large' member, and is tasked with the responsibility of compiling a slate of candidates for the incoming Executive Council and the incoming Nominating Committee. The incoming Nominating Committee will takeover from the current committee after the meeting in Mexico City, and will be responsible for overseeing the nomination process in 2020.

The 2018 Nominating Committee

Members of the 2018 NTA Nominating Committee were approached by Andrew Mason and Ronald Lee in late June 2018 to serve on the committee. The five members of the Nominating Committee are:

- Marisa Bucheli Moses Muriithi Morne Oosthuizen An-Chi Tung Marina Zannella
- Uruguay Kenya South Africa Taiwan Italy

Morne Oosthuizen was nominated by the committee to coordinate its activities.

The Proposed Slate of Candidates

The nomination process was administered electronically, with committee members making nominations for particular positions via group email. Once a nomination was seconded and accepted by the committee, the nominee was approached via email to inform them that they had been nominated as the committee's candidate for a particular position, and requesting them to confirm their availability to stand for election. Nominees were also informed that, should they accept the committee's nomination, they would be ineligible to accept any other nomination. This was to ensure *inter alia* a full slate of nominees for all positions once the nomination process was opened up.

Nominees that confirmed their availability were confirmed as part of the slate of candidates. However, where a nominee declined the nomination, the committee began a new nomination process for that position.

The slate of candidates presented to the General Membership is listed below. For the Executive Council:

NTA Executive Council			
Position	Nominee	Country	
Chair	Sang-Hyop Lee	Member at large	
Vice-Chair	Gretchen Donehower	United States	
Secretary	Ivan Mejia	Mexico	
Africa Regional Representative	Eugenia Amporfu	Ghana	
Africa Regional Representative	Latif Dramani	Senegal	
Americas Regional Representative	Paulo Saad	Chile	
Americas Regional Representative	Piedad Urdinola	Colombia	
Asia Regional Representative	Qiulin Chen	China	
Asia Regional Representative	Jeromey Temple	Australia	
Europe Regional Representative	Hippolyte d'Albis	France	
Europe Regional Representative	Alexia Furnkranz-Prskawetz	Austria	

For the Nominating Committee:

Ŭ		
Position	Nominee	Country
Africa Regional Representative	Adedoyin Soyibo	Nigeria
Americas Regional Representative	Cassio Turra	Brazil
Asia Regional Representative	Michael Abrigo	Philippines
Europe Regional Representative	Agnieszka Chlon-Dominczak	Poland
Member at large	Robert Gal	Hungary

The Open Nomination Process

On 11 July 2018, the Nominating Committee presented the slate of candidates in a brief report to the members of the NTA Network via email. The report also detailed the process by which any member of the NTA Network was able to make additional nominations for any of the elected positions.

Specific instructions regarding the open nomination process were as follows:

- 1. Before submitting a nomination, please confirm that the nominee is willing to stand for the position.
- 2. Nominations should be sent to Morne.Oosthuizen@uct.ac.za, copying in the nominee.
- 3. Only voting members of the NTA Network are eligible to be nominated/elected to the Executive Council or Nominating Committee. For ease of reference, we have included the list of voting members as an appendix.
- 4. Voting members may nominate themselves.
- 5. Unopposed candidates will be assumed to have been elected unanimously.
- 6. The NTA Network Bylaws can be found at <u>http://ntaccounts.org/doc/repository/</u><u>Bylaws.pdf</u>. The document includes descriptions of the functions of Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary, as well as of the Nominating Committee.

The closing date for nominations was Saturday 14 July 2018, at 10pm UTC. This allowed roughly three days to submit nominations.

By the closing date, one additional nomination was received. This nomination was for Concepcio Patxot as Regional Representative for Europe on the Executive Council.

The Voting Process

Voting for the contested positions was opened on Wednesday 18 July 2018, with a deadline of Saturday 21 July 2018, at 10pm UTC. This allowed for roughly three days for voting members to cast their votes. Voting was conducted electronically via an online Google form and voting members were provided with a unique 10-digit code that would ensure that only voting members would have access and be able to vote. All voting members were eligible to vote.

As noted, there was only one contested position—that of the Regional Representative for Europe on the Executive Council—and voting members were invited to vote for up to two of the three nominees. By the close of the voting process, a total of 41 voting members had cast votes.

Results of the Election

The results of the election for Regional Representative for Europe on the Executive Council are as follows:

Candidate	Number of Votes	
Hippolyte d'Albis	23	
Alexia Furnkranz-Prskawetz	29	
Concepcio Patxot	19	

Therefore, the elected members for Europe on the Executive Council are Hippolyte d'Albis and Alexia Furnkranz-Prskawetz. All nominees for uncontested positions are deemed to have been elected unanimously.

The complete list of individuals elected to the NTA Executive Council is therefore as follows:

NTA Executive Council		
Position	Elected Member	Country
Chair	Sang-Hyop Lee	Member at large
Vice-Chair	Gretchen Donehower	United States
Secretary	Ivan Mejia	Mexico
Africa Regional Representative	Eugenia Amporfu	Ghana
Africa Regional Representative	Latif Dramani	Senegal
Americas Regional Representative	Paulo Saad	Chile
Americas Regional Representative	Piedad Urdinola	Colombia
Asia Regional Representative	Qiulin Chen	China
Asia Regional Representative	Jeromey Temple	Australia
Europe Regional Representative	Hippolyte d'Albis	France
Europe Regional Representative	Alexia Furnkranz-Prskawetz	Austria

The complete list of individuals elected to the NTA Nominating Committee for 2020 is as follows:

NTA Nominating Committee for 2020			
Position	Elected Member	Country	
Africa Regional Representative	Adedoyin Soyibo	Nigeria	
Americas Regional Representative	Cassio Turra	Brazil	
Asia Regional Representative	Michael Abrigo	Philippines	
Europe Regional Representative	Agnieszka Chlon-Dominczak	Poland	
Member at large	Robert Gal	Hungary	

Closing Remarks

The 2018 NTA Nominating Committee would like to congratulate the incoming NTA Executive Council and NTA Nominating Committee on their election. We would also like to thank all members of the NTA Network for adhering to the timelines that were often quite tight.

It was our great pleasure to serve the network in this capacity.

Marisa Bucheli, Moses Muriithi, Morne Oosthuizen, An-Chi Tung, Marina Zannella 23 July 2018